Together We Can
Leader in Medicine

Selection for the American Health Council’s “Leader in Medicine” award is reserved for those individuals who have exhibited exemplary conduct in their field. These doctors and medical educators serve as the guiding light for advancement from the classroom to the consultation room to the operating room. Leading by example, the difference begins with them.

Browse award recipients by state:

AL     AK     AZ     AR     CA     CO     CT     DE    FL     GA     HI     ID     IL     IN     IA     KS     KY     LA     ME     MD     MA     MI     MN     MS     MO     MT     NE     NV     NH     NJ     NM     NY     NC     ND     OH     OK     OR     PA     RI     SC     SD     TN     TX     UT     VT     VA     WA     WV     WI     WY


Illinois' Best in Medicine
Dr. Gangemi is both Assistant Professor of Surgery and Clinical Director of the Surgical Skills Laboratory at the University of Illinois at Chicago, a role which he has held for the past five years.
Dr. Hatzidimitriadis has been an Attending Physician at AMITA Health, a healthcare network located in Illinois, for over five years. He has spent seven years building his knowledge and experience in the healthcare industry. He became Board Certified in Internal Medicine and has subspecialties in Diabetic Care and Primary Care.
John C. Wuellner, MD
For the past 15 years, Dr. Wuellner, as an internal medicine physician at BJC Medical Group in Anton, Ill., He has provided high-quality care to countless patients. Specializing in internal medicine, he has molded and perfected his outstanding physician skills during nearly 40 years in the healthcare industry.
Best in Medicine
A current Anesthesiologist working Per Diem for the past 7 years. Dr. Smith also has fellowship training in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesiology. Dr. Smith earned her MD from Southern Illinois School of Medicine in 2002. She is Board Certified in Anesthesiology and is also a BLS Instructor.
John Bebawy, MD
Dr. Bebawy has been active in the healthcare industry for the last 10 years. He earned his M.D. from Loyola University in 2003 and completed his residency (2007) and fellowship (2008) at Northwestern University, McGraw Medical Center (Northwestern Memorial Hospital). He is board certified in Anesthesiology. He became involved in his current profession because of his interest in Pharmacology and working with patients.

Jon Durrani, DO

Dayton Center for Neurologic Disorders

Antonio Gangemi, MD

Asst. Prof.
Univ. of Illinois At Chicago

Aristidis Hatzidimitriadis, MD

Attending Physician
Amita Health

Andrzej Jakubowiak, MD, PhD

Prof. of Medicine
Univ. of Chicago

John Johanson, MD, MSc

Beloit Health Systems

Atul Joshi, DO

Team Health

Rashid Kysia, M.D. MPH

Cook County Hosp.

Ahmad Shaher, MD

Depart. Head
Roseland Community Hosp.

Vidya Sriram, MD

CAP Laboratory Inspector

William Zander, DO

Reg. Medical Director
Physicians Immediate Care

John Wuellner, MD

Bjc Med. Group