Together We Can
Leader in Medicine

Selection for the American Health Council’s “Leader in Medicine” award is reserved for those individuals who have exhibited exemplary conduct in their field. These doctors and medical educators serve as the guiding light for advancement from the classroom to the consultation room to the operating room. Leading by example, the difference begins with them.

Browse award recipients by state:

AL     AK     AZ     AR     CA     CO     CT     DE    FL     GA     HI     ID     IL     IN     IA     KS     KY     LA     ME     MD     MA     MI     MN     MS     MO     MT     NE     NV     NH     NJ     NM     NY     NC     ND     OH     OK     OR     PA     RI     SC     SD     TN     TX     UT     VT     VA     WA     WV     WI     WY


Minnesota's Best in Medicine
The American Health Council has welcomed Dr. Alina Jeffers, as " Best in Medicine" in recognition of her outstanding dedication in the fields of obstetrics and gynecology.
The American Health Council has welcomed Dr. Karla Juvonen, as " Best in Medicine" in recognition of her outstanding dedication in the field of Addiction Medicine.
The American Health Council has welcomed Dr. Jeanne Mrozek, as " Best in Medicine" in recognition of her outstanding dedication in the fields of Neonatal and Pediatrics.
With 22 years of expertise in Dermatology and Cosmetic Surgery, Board-certified Dermatologist and Mohs Micrographic Surgeon Dr. Daniel Elieff, MD...
Dr. Shaffer has undertaken the role of Cardiothoracic Surgeon and Assistant Professor for the last four months, at the University of Minnesota Department of Surgery. His expertise includes Adult Cardiac Surgery, Adult Congenital Cardiac Surgery, Aortic Surgery, Mechanical Circulatory Support, Heart and Lung Transplantation and TAVR and TEVAR.
Ms. Linda Stoeber is the Senior Compliance Program Manager at Medtronic. Ms. Stoeber completed her Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education and Teaching from Pensacola Christian College in 1998.
Dr. Douglas Hardy, MD, is board-certified in pediatrics and neonatal-perinatal medicine and has been a practicing neonatologist at Orlando Health since 1987. He is the clinical director of the level 3 NICU at Winnie Palmer Hospital for Women & Babies and the quality director of the NICU.
Jeffrey L. Winters, MD, is an anatomic/clinical pathologist with subspecialty training in transfusion medicine. He also has a special interest in therapeutic apheresis.
Dr. Lisa Kirkland, MD maintains a very active schedule as she serves as a hospitalist at the Mayo Clinic and an internist at Allina Health in Minnesota. She works in the intensive care unit and conducts critical care medicine work.
Dr. Nelson Leung, MD is a Consultant and a physician in the divisions of Nephrology and Hypertension and Hematology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN.
Dr. Lloyd has been a Physician at the Mayo Clinic for the past 15 years, giving 26 years of medical practice and capability in Hospital Medicine to the healthcare industry. The Mayo Clinic is one of the largest integrated, not-for-profit medical groups where doctors from every medical specialty are joined by common systems and live by the motto, “the needs of the patient come first.”
Dr. Gregory Mesna is the Plastic Surgeon and Owner of Mesna Plastic Srgery. Dr. Mesna and the staff at Mesna Plastic Surgery offer a personal approach to improving your image.
Dr. Alexandra Borders received her Doctorate of Audiology in 2007 from Central Michigan University. Dr. Borders joined St. Cloud Ear, Nose and Throat in 2007.
Dr. Michael Lurakis received his medical degree from Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine and has been in practice for more than 20 years.
Dr. Rothschild first decided to embark on a career as a Physician after taking up an opportunity to work in a medical research laboratory. It was here that she realized her passion for all aspects of surgery for women, alongside an overall caring for the health of her patients.
Grace Totoe, MBChB, with 13 years in the healthcare industry and 3 in her current role as a Nocturnist/Hospitalist/Acute Care Medicine Physician at North Clinic and North Memorial Medical Center, Grace Totoe is being recognized for her expertise in Internal Medicine and Hospital Medicine.
After a professor invited him to join a research project, Dr. Lindstrom’s interest in pursuing a career as an ophthalmologist heightened. After receiving a medical degree from the University of Minnesota Medical School in 1972, he completed an internship at the Abbott Northwestern Hospital – Allina Health System.
Best in Medicine
Gerald Morley, MD, with over 53 years of knowledge and expertise in Clinical Neurophysiology, Dr. Morley offers a variety of advanced contributions to patient care. He is currently a Neurologist at Electromyography Associates and has been in his role for 30 years.
Domenico Calcaterra, MD, PhD, FACS, FCCP, FACC
Domenico Calcaterra, MD, PhD, FACS, FCCP, FACC, has been the Chief of Cardiac Surgery at Hennepin Medical Center for the past three years and an Associate Professor of Surgery at the University of Minnesota. He is also a Founder and Board Director member for the Miami Scientific Italian Community (MSIC). He shares his extensive knowledge and expertise in Adult Cardiac Surgery, consisting of Off-Pump Coronary Artery Revascularization, Minimally Invasive Valve Surgery, Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (EMCO) and Blood Conservation; Aortic Root and Aortic Arch Surgery, Thoracoabdominal Aortic Replacement, and Endovascular Aortic Repair.

Heather Bergeson, MD, CAQ

Sports Medicine Physician/Assoc. Clinical Prof.
Univ. of MN. Physicians

Norman Booth, PA-C

Physician Assistant
Department of Justice

Domenico Calcaterra, MD, PhD

Allina Health

Jonathan Cooper, D.O.


Mary Dunn, MD

Healtheast Neurosurgery

Daniel Elieff, FAAD,FASMS, FACP


Alina Jeffers, MD

Ob/Gyn Physician
Fairview Women’s Center of Edina

Zaraq Khan, MBBS, MSCR

Assistant Professor
Mayo Clinic

Lisa Kirkland, MD

Mayo Clinic

Julie Lata, DO

ED physician & Residency Program Director
McLaren Macomb

Nelson Leung, MD

Mayo Clinic

Bruce Levy, MD

Mayo Clinic

Farrell Lloyd, MD, MPH

Mayo Clinic

Troy Long, MD

Chief of Interventional Radiology
Minneapolis Radiology Associates

Gregory Mesna, MD, FACS

Plastic Surgeon
Mesna Plastic Surgery

Gerald Morley, MD

Electromyography Associates

Mohamad Mouchli, MD

GI Fellow
Mayo Clinic

Jeanne Mrozek, MD

MN Neonatal Physicians

Andrew Nelson, MD, PhD

Assist. Prof.
Univ. of Minnesota

Jeffrey Rayl, DO

Emergency Physician

Vilmarie Rodriguez, MD

Pediatric Hematologist-Oncologist
Mayo Clinic

Donald Soll, MD


Malcolm Parker, MD FACEP

Em Locums

Karie Soost, BS, PA-C

Physician’s Assistant
Mankato Clinic LTD

James Sturm, MN

Independent Contractor, Em
James Sturm, MD

Grace Totoe, MBChB

North Clinic

Deborah Vogl, DHSc, MPAS, PA-C

Physician Assistant
Regions Hospital

Julie Zimmerman, MD

Family Physician