Together We Can
Leader in Medicine

Selection for the American Health Council’s “Leader in Medicine” award is reserved for those individuals who have exhibited exemplary conduct in their field. These doctors and medical educators serve as the guiding light for advancement from the classroom to the consultation room to the operating room. Leading by example, the difference begins with them.

Browse award recipients by state:

AL     AK     AZ     AR     CA     CO     CT     DE    FL     GA     HI     ID     IL     IN     IA     KS     KY     LA     ME     MD     MA     MI     MN     MS     MO     MT     NE     NV     NH     NJ     NM     NY     NC     ND     OH     OK     OR     PA     RI     SC     SD     TN     TX     UT     VT     VA     WA     WV     WI     WY


Best Doctors in Missouri
The American Health Council has welcomed Dr. Penny DeFranco, as " Best in Medicine" in recognition of her outstanding dedication in the field of Nephrology.
The American Health Council has welcomed Dr. Nupur Ghoshal, as " Best in Medicine" in recognition of her outstanding dedication in the fields of Neurology and Psychiatry.
Best in Medicine
The American Health Council has welcomed Dr. James Bashkin, as " Best in Medicine" in recognition of her outstanding dedication in the field of Organometallic Chemistry.
Nisha Bhide, PharmD, BCPS is the National Senior Manager of Medication Mangement at Ascension. She completed her PharmD Degree at the Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy at Rutgers University.
Dr. John Ellena, MD is a Medical Director at BJC Medical Group. He specializes in patient care and Internal Medicine.Dr. Ellena obtained his Medical Degree from...
In 2010, Dr. David Robson was appointed Chief of Surgery at Missouri Baptist Medical Center, and in 2016 he received his Master’s in Healthcare Delivery Science from Dartmouth College. Additionally, he has served on OR and Peer Review Committees.
Dr. Edward Stout, PhD, is the founder of Southwest Technologies Inc. and the inventor of the incredible Elasto-Gel™ technology.Dr. Stout has over 40 years experience in the medical device field.
Obtaining his MD in 1956 from Duke University School of Medicine, Dr. Clyde Norman Shealy also holds his PhD in Psychology from Saybrook Institute (1977), as well as a Doctorate of Science from Ryodoraku Research Institute of North America (1979). He spent over 3 years at Western Reserve Medical School, where his research ultimately led to both Dorsal Column Stimulation and Transcutaneous Electrical Nerve Stimulation (TENS™), both which are currently used worldwide to aid the control of pain.
Dr. Edmund C. Landry, Orthopaedic Surgeon at Twin Rivers Regional Medical Center and Kennett Orthopaedic Center. He will be sharing his knowledge and expertise on General Orthopaedic Surgery and Knee Replacement Surgery.
Marvin Faulkner, DO, BA
Marvin Faulkner, DO, BA is a pain physician at Minimally Invasive Surgical Hospital in Kansas City, Mo., Dr. Faulkner ensures that each patient receives high-quality care.With 32 years of experience in the healthcare industry, Dr. Faulkner is an invaluable medical expert.
Dr. Glenn Talboy, Chairman of Surgery  at the University of Missouri-Kansas City and Physician at University Physician Associates, shares his knowledge and expertise on General Surgery and Medicine. With over two decades of experience in the field of General Surgery and Medicine.

Nisha Bhide, PharmD, BCPS

Senior Manager

Marvin Faulkner, AOA

Pain Physician

Malinda Ellis, MD

Envision Healthcare

Nupur Ghoshal, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Washington University School of Medicine

David Robson, MD, MHCDS

Comprehensive Spine Care